As I wrote when I started this blog, after my years in the countryside of Virginia and after the first year-plus of Covid isolation and limitations, I’m focused on spending my time with good friends and on cultural events and experiences. To my friends in NYC, this list may be a yawn – more like two months’ worth of events rather than a full year. But to me, all these performances have been a real thrill. I’m hungry for more opera and theater but oh so happy with what I’ve gotten to so far, in my new retiree life.

Signature Theatre

Jasper

Sat 24 September 20h

The Joyce Theater

Burn

Fri 23 September 20h

Longacre Theatre

Leopoldstadt

Wed 21 September 20h

Music Mondays

Advent Lutheran Church, B’way/93rd

Claremont Trio

Emily Bruskin, Julia Bruskin, Sophiko Simsive

Program: Gershwin, Greenstein, Bernstein, Brahms

Mon 19 September 19h30

BBC Proms

Royal Albert Hall

Solomon

19 August 19h

The English Concert, conducted by Sofi Jeannin, with the BBC Singers

With: Iestyn Davies, Anna Dennis, Benjamin Hulett, Ashley Riches, Wallis Giunta

Opéra Orchestre National Montpellier

Concert de rentrée

Sat September 10 19h

Conductor: Chloé Dufresne
Program: Ho, Martinů, Brahms

Charing Cross Theatre

Donizetti’s Rita

18 August 19h30

13th Istanbul Opera Festival

Haliç Kongre Merkezi

Carmen

Wed 27 July 21h

Tosca

Wed 20 July 21h

Seven Tenors

Sat 16 July 21h

Gerlev Idrætshøjskole

Gospel concert

July 6

My friend Arne took me to a place he is understandably passionate about, Gerlev højskole, to hear a gospel concert put on by the teaching staff: people he has studied and sung with. In my post about visiting Denmark this past July, I have a little video from that evening.

Les amis de l’orgue, Temple Saint-Martial, Avignon

Bach et ses amis

Michael Stoddart, organ

Fri 3 June 12h30

Opéra Grand Avignon

Dame de Pique

Fri 27 May 20h30

Attended with Kristian and Margaret, and were very disappointed with the opera house: guard rails right at eye level put most of the show out of sight. K & M got glimpses of some very talented dance work that I saw for only some seconds, standing.

Kadiköy Belediyesi Süreyya Opera Sahnesi, Istanbul

Oda Müzigi Schubert konser

19 April 20h

Magyar Állami Operaház, Budapest

Parsifal

Sun 17 April 17h

Easter with Mascagni: Messa di Gloria / Cavalleria Rusticana

Sat 16 April 19h

Eiffel Art Studios, Miklós Bánffy Stage, Budapest

St Matthew Passion

Fri 15 April 20h

Wiener Staatsoper

Carmen

Tue 12 April 19h

Don José: Vittorio Grigolo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.